CCRS for Teachers

January 15, 2018 @ 9:30 am – 3:30 pm
Alexander House
Clifton Diocesan Offices
160 Pennywell Rd, Bristol BS5 0TX
£15 per day (£20 registration)
Graham Tiley
0117 9025593

The Catholic Certificate in Religious Studies (CCRS) is managed and awarded by the Board of Religious Studies on behalf of the Bishops’ Conference.

The certificate is normally acquired over two years with a maximum of five years’ study.  The diocese offers four modules a year on a two year cycle.  Each year will consist of three core modules and a specialist module.  You may choose to do four modules per year to complete the course over two years or you may space it out over a longer period if you wish.  Once you have completed the first module you have five years in which to complete.  The academic year will consist of eight days in total with four days in school time and four on a Saturday.

The course consists of 8 modules in total; six core and two specialist modules.

The core modules are:

  • Old Testament
  • New Testament
  • The Person of Jesus
  • The Church
  • Sacramental Life and
  • Moral Understanding

Each Module requires 10 hours contact time with a written assignment of 1500 words.

You may of course choose to do the modules out of interest and not complete the written assignment; however you will not be awarded a CCRS certificate unless you complete the written assignments.

Today’s module is The New Testament