27th January 2020 @ 9:30 am – 3:30 pm
Clifton Catholic Diocesan Offices
Pennywell Rd
Bristol BS5 0TX
Graham Tiley
0117 9025593

The Catholic Certificate in Religious Studies (CCRS) is managed and awarded by the Board of Religious Studies on behalf of the Bishops’ Conference.

It was introduced in 1991 to replace its predecessors, The Catholic Teachers’ Certificate and the Certificate in Religious Education. Any teacher who is, or who wishes to be involved in Catholic Education may apply for the course.

The certificate is normally acquired over two years with a maximum of five years’ study. The diocese will offer four modules a year on a two-year cycle. Each year will consist of three core modules and a specialist module. You may choose to do four modules per year to complete the course over two years or you may space it out over a longer period if you wish. Once you begin the first module you must complete within five years. This academic year will consist of eight days in total, four days in school time and four on a Saturday.

You must attend each module and successfully complete an assignment. In this year we will consider:

  • The Old Testament
  • New Testament
  • The Person of Jesus
  • Theology of Inclusion